Six inductees to join - women's hall of fame - SAN DIEGO COUNTY

March 17, 2018
Publication: San Diego Union-Tribune, The (CA)
Page: 2

Six new inductees will join the San Diego County Women's Hall of Fame on Sunday afternoon.

The 17th annual ceremony at the Jacobs Center in Chollas View will honor:

• Nellie Andrade, a founder of the San Diego chapter of MANA, a national organization created in the 1970s to encourage Latinas through education, leadership development and community service. She is being recognized in the category of Empowerer.

• Janice Martinelli, president of the National City Historical Society, who is best known for her efforts to preserve and renovate local Victorian homes. Category: Historian.

• Jerrilyn Malana, past president of the San Diego County Bar Association, the first Asian Pacific American attorney to hold that position. Category: Trailblazer.

• Fahari Jeffers, a founder of the United Domestic Workers of America, who pushed for improved pay and conditions for housekeepers and home-care workers in the state. Category: Activist.

• Carol Jahnkow, longtime executive director of the Peace Resource Center of San Diego and a fixture at local anti-war and social-justice protests over the years. Category: Bridge Builder.

• Dede Alpert, former state senator and state assemblywoman whose legislative career included bills that created more protections for domestic-violence survivors and a master plan for education. Category: Spirit of the Hall of Fame.

Community members nominate candidates for induction every year, and then representatives from four groups – the Women’s Museum of California, the Commission on the Status of Women, the Department of Women’s Studies at San Diego State and the Women’s Center at UC San Diego – pick the winners.

Sunday’s ceremony is at 2:30 p.m. in the Celebration Room at the Jacobs Center, 404 Euclid Ave. The event is open to the public. Individual tickets are $50 ($25 for students).